Lapbooking the Letter A

So, I’ve finally decided to start the Letter of the Week with Dylan. Although I didn’t follow nor did I get the curriculum, I decided to just make my own.

Goal: To focus on one letter of the alphabet a week. 

Why did I decide to start now that he’s 2 years old? 

For several weeks, he’s started to show an interest in the alphabets already. We have several alphabet flashcards (both bought and given as gifts). Ever since I got them, I would go through them with Dylan but he wasn’t interested at the time.

Lately, he’s been getting the flashcards off his shelf and asking me or his dad to go through it with him.

He reads sign posts or some books and reads by saying “abcd… abcd”.

He even made a letter A using his clay. At least something resembling a letter A and told me “A”.

What’s a lapbook? 

IMG_8046

Lapbooks are generally used on older kids or preschoolers. But you can always change the layout or activities in the lapbook to suit the age of your child.

I, personally, found lapbooks really cute, so I decided to try it with Dylan.

I got my lapbook printables for the letter A here. They also have lapbook printables for the rest of the letters of the alphabet.

I didn’t place all the activities in Dylan’s letter A lapbook because it was still too advanced for him. Take tracing, for example, I didn’t include it because Dylan doesn’t like tracing yet. I did include only one of the 3 tracing activities so Dylan can try it.

Involve your tot in the making of the lapbook! 

All you have to do is print out the printables, prepare the lapbook, and cut out the different parts.

You can let your tot help you with gluing the activities in place, stapling, or even cutting.

Dylan helped in decorating the cover of his lapbook.

IMG_8027
He needed some assistance with the glue. Assistance in stopping, that is. =D
IMG_8031
I had a stick glue and the liquid glue. Dylan preferred the liquid variety. Elmer’s felt a little lonely abandoned to the side. =D
IMG_8028
Don’t forget to instruct them to press the pieces of paper after putting glue.
IMG_8049
Dylan cut the pieces of paper himself, using both hands. I made sure to cut the papers into strips first to make it easy for him to cut through.
IMG_8038
I prepared his crayons and markers for him to color the letters A, but he rummaged around in his drawer and preferred to paint instead.
IMG_8050
Used crayola washable finger paint (It looks small but i’m still finishing it until now. Bought this during summer and it still isn’t finished). Love this paint brush from Maam_and_Moms. It’s the perfect size for Dylan’s hands.
IMG_8042
According to him, he was tired after all his cutting, pasting, and painting, so he pretended to sleep to express it. =D

 

A Peak at Dylan’s Letter A Lapbook

We’re going to be going through this throughout the week next week and including other activities as well for the little guy to become overly familiar with the letter A.

IMG_8045

IMG_8054

IMG_8055
Improvised since I didn’t have brad fasteners at the time. Should also have grouped the short A and long A vowel sounds.

IMG_8053

IMG_8052
Tracing booklet

 

You can always store this for use later on when your tot is a little bit older. Either for review or to finish the other activities he isn’t able to do yet.

When I attended a seminar on Homeschooling the Early Years, one of the speakers showed her Letter of the Week book compilation that to this day still remains to be her child’s favorite book because she had a hand in making all of it.

 

Leave a Reply

