Why We’re Homeschooling

Homeschooling. Wow.

A long, long time ago, I never thought of myself as a homeschooling mom. An even longer time before that, I never even saw myself as a housewife. But now, I am.

Now that we started it, I say why not?

It was my husband who first pitched the idea to me. One day, while I was pregnant with our child, he told me that we should consider homeschooling instead. When he said that, my heart almost jumped out of my chest. Homeschool? That would mean I would have to teach my son! What about math? I’m poor at math! What about Filipino? Oh no! What about more time to myself? Poof! Gone! Then he said to do my due diligence and research on homeschooling and how to go about it in the Philippines. And so I did.

When I started my research, I visited a lot of websites on homeschool providers in the country as well as abroad. I read blogs. I looked up pinterest. And it was right then and there, as I was reading through the experiences of moms and families and the fun the children were having, I finally decided, YES, we will homeschool.

Many of our friends have asked us why we’re going to homeschool our child. And if you’re also itching to ask us, here’s why:

  • As Christian parents, we wanted to be the ones to teach our child values formation. We want to teach him about the Lord, and with prayers and wisdom, that he will be able to love the Lord and to love others the way Jesus loves.
  • We wanted him to love learning. While this also happens in school,  we want to encourage him that he can learn anything, anywhere. We don’t want him to associate learning within the four walls of a school or even our home.
  • We want to, as much as possible, avoid the common situations that happen in a school such as bullying and negative peer pressure, and both are a sad reality. With love and prayers, as we transition Dylan to school in an institution, we hope his values will be ingrained deeply that he will love others and not become a bully himself and be a positive influence on the people around him.
  • Last, but not the least, our current home setup is perfect for homeschooling. I am a housewife and stay at home mom, so homeschooling was just the best decision we could make for our child.

Disclaimer: I am not saying that these do not happen in a school. There are children and adults I know who love school, love to learn, and have succeeded. But during Dylan’s formative years, it is our desire to be his first and best teachers. 

Leave a Reply

